Award Winner
Daniel Scratch
a story of witchkind

WINNER – American Fiction Awards, “Best Fantasy” 2023
A Kirkus Reviews starred review
A Kirkus Reviews “Best Books of 2021” selection

Thirteen year-old Daniel Scratch has been living alone for years since his parents passed, cared for by his home’s tiny, elf-like brownies and his somehow-still-living great-great grandmother.

But when Grandmother sends him to the village to be Tested, his life turns upside down. He’s abandoned on a craggy isle, home to the Tower of Endings, and discovers he’s to be the next adherent to the Sixth Axis, one of the most powerful magical forces in the world.

He lives in the Tower for years, learning all the basic magics of witchkind along with the great Seven Forms of his Axis. Along the way, learns more than he ever thought possible about his people and their society, and their relationships with the far more-numerous humans of the world.

His education culminates with an irreversible Choice, thrusting him into a mystery whose resolution will save all of humanity and witchkind – or doom them all to chaos and oblivion.

Enter Underhill with Clara Thorn
Clara Thorn, the witch that was found
Book 1
Fantasy
Clara Thorn, the witch that was found

WINNER American Fiction Awards “Best Young Adult” 2023
FINALIST American Fiction Awards “Best Fantasy” 2023

Poor Clara.

On the one hand, things are going well: she’s aced her Math final, and school’s almost out for the year. Dad’s hanging in there with contract jobs, Mom’s helping make ends meet by cleaning other people’s homes, and they’ve at least got a roof over their heads. Vegas isn’t the nicest place in the summer, but it’s no worse than the half-dozen other places she’s lived in her short life.

But on the other hand, she has no friends. Everyone at school is either diffident or a bully—as if they can sense that Clara doesn’t quite fit in. And then there’s the triplets, who mysteriously vanish in the Art Alley near the school.

That’s when things get interesting. Clara follows them through a Border to Underhill, and before long she’s thrown into a world she never knew existed. A world of magic, witches, excitement, and danger. She not only has to fit in with her new classmates—and avoid the ire of the “in” clique that every school seems to have—she’s apparently the only one who can save all of Underhill from an exile who wants to trap them all and cut off the source of magic!

Also, she’s pretty sure her parents knew about this all along.

"Adult and teenage fans of thoughtful fantasy will love exploring this beautifully described world of arcane powers. This meditative look at power will engage readers who like their fantasy with a side of philosophy. Great for fans of Ursula K. Le Guin's A Wizard of Earthsea, Neil Gaiman's The Graveyard Book."
~ BookLife
Daniel Scratch
Sure to appeal to readers of "Ready Player One" and other "GameLit" novels that place the characters in a fully-immersive game. Jones' take on the genre is unique, compelling, and comes complete with a surprise twist!
Truthsayer
“Clara shines as a spunky protagonist who is grown-up enough to accept her destiny…. Jones links math and magic in a way that makes math seem cool…. Fresh ideas, some welcome diversity, and memorable character work enliven the material.”
~ BookLife
website
"This thoughtful reinterpretation of Peter Pan through myth and folklore will appeal to fans of darker adult takes on children’s literature."
~ BookLife
The Never

Dive into a Great Series!

Daniel Scratch
Book 1
Truthsayer
Book 1
website
Book 1
website
Book 1

Latest Project

Clara Thorn, the witch that won
0%